A Krampus Story (Short Film)

 

This short film was entirely done by yours truly-apart from of course the obvious other character in the movie-I played myself, Krampus, edited and filmed this little project. I had come up with the idea long before I knew much of the recent movie that came out (which I have seen and it is so cool!)  I however wanted to take this whole thing back to its roots, the ‘classic Krampus’ where he invades your home, beats you up, throws you in a sack and to his lair. I thought it would be perfect set up for a holiday movie (which I try to put out once a year at around this time.)

Sadly, I had come up with the idea during my wisdom teeth surgery, so I was sort of concerned that I would run out of time. I spent a lot of time lying down and such-but I did get to a point where I could get up and not be in too much pain (however, during the Christmas party opening scene…my mouth was indeed in pain and I could not eat any of the food in front of me!) Also, when I filmed the grandmother scene at the table, my mouth was hurting-which didn’t matter to me much, but it certainly was a unique experience filming under those kinds of conditions. I knew however, right when the dentist took the stitches out and sent me on my way-I had to get moving.

I bought the demon mask online, and the Santa jacket Krampus wore, my mom actually found while we were shopping! Great find by her, truly put the finishing touch on the holiday look of the creature.

I filmed my scenes first, then filmed myself as Krampus (not easy-but not impossible either.) Filming all on my own gave me 100% freedom, but without extra hands, setting up decent shots was a bit of a chore, but I think this movie came out really well-and I hope Krampus fans enjoy it!

 

Leave a Reply

