EXPERT SYSTEM (Short Film)

 

PLOT: Julie gets more than she bargained for when she underestimates the dark and disturbing mind of an Artificial intelligence system…


This movie really came about when I was in middle school and saw the movie “2001: A Space Odyssey” the first time. I was so fascinated with HAL9000, really that character stole the show for me and was the element of the story that stuck with me. I thought ‘what would that be like in a house?’ I wanted to do something like HAL, but on a much smaller scale. I simply didn’t have the editing technique at the time to pull it off, and I forgot about the idea. That is until, I started reading a book entitled “Demon Seed” by Dean Koontz, and the idea slowly came back to me.

While reading the book, my mom was putting together props for a large cosplay my dad is involved with (I can’t say much here) but let’s just say-without my mom putting together this cosplay, this movie probably would not have happened. When I saw the IBM camera painted black (which was Isaac9000 himself) and his robotic arm, I knew exactly how to do this movie.

Once I had the props, I got my veteran actress, Katherine involved-who really found the project interesting, and I was also able to my uncle to play a small cameo in the movie, someone who I’ve been in touch with creatively for a long time.

My next predicament was editing, this movie ended up being such a bigger project than I intended. First off, Isaac’s voice was a hassle. I knew I wanted a robotic sounding voice, but everything online was just stupid and generic-until I paid some money for a voice on a text-to-speech program my mom had and ‘bought’ the British voice, needless to say-it was awesome.

The editing went like this: I would say the lines in front of camera to Katherine, then when finalizing the movie, went back, wrote down every line of dialogue Issac spoke, put the lines into the reader, used a screen capture program to get the audio itself, then cut and splice until the audio synched perfectly, then muted my audio.  It was a true challenge and it proved to be super tedious, not to mention all the robotic sound effects for when Isacc’s ‘arm’ moved, that was also a pain-the movie editing program began to even get buggy on me and the render time for the movie was quite long.

However, I am proud to say that this movie is so different from my other works, that I can’t help but look back on all the tough editing fondly. I hope science fiction fans enjoy this, thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

