DOLPHIN QUEST (Short Film)

 

The inception of this fantasy short film was done after I watched the classic film from the 80’s entitled “The Dark Crystal”. A film starring puppets actually seemed like something I could do, on a much smaller scale of course.  I wanted to do a fantasy simply because I rarely get to do grand stories, so I thought with puppets and with the holidays coming up and traveling, I knew it would be a good chance to try something a bit more ambitious.

Filming at the very cool furry con in Springfield was a blast, everyone seemed to be interested in what I was doing and I was glad to answer questions. I actually shot that footage before I had a SCRIPT written out, but I spent the next few days tweaking a plot and I knew what kind of story I wanted to tell. I recorded all the audio I needed before filming a whole lot, I did film little things here and there-but in the editing it was much easier to have all the puzzle pieces and just put everything together.

Filming in Lake George was also a blast, but it proved to be very tiring. Having to pack for myself AND for the movie AND make sure I remembered batteries and the puppets and had a place to store everything was a bit of a hard deal, but once I got there things fell into place-for the most part. The weather was quite bad, an overcast looks pretty on camera, but the rain was off and on and that made the shooting schedule tight since we were only there for two days, but it rained 90% of the time. With my mom’s help, I was able to get everything in though.

For the final scene at the party, that was just pure craziness. My aunt holds a 4th of July party, and I LOVE going and thought it would be fun to film there, it was a fun time but carrying around a camera and two puppets for half the time made walking about hard, plus I wanted to make sure to talk to my aunts and cousins who I sometimes don’t get to see a lot, but everyone loved being on camera and I think I juggled everything well. I am proud of this short, for its locations and story. The waiting to get the locations was VERY tough on my ADHD, but it was so worth it.

Along with this new film, came AMAZING movie poster art by the talented Carrie Lindstrom! She was awesome to work with, I met with her and she knew exactly what I was looking for, her work added a whole new dimension to the project for sure. 🙂

dolphin

Leave a Reply

